Past NIMEs

The conference began as a workshop at the ACM Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI) in 2001 in Seattle, Washington. Since this NIME 2001, international conferences have been held annually around the world.

NB: The pages below are historic web documents, and are not updated. If you are looking for the proceedings of the conferences, all papers are located in the common NIME archive.

  • NIME 2001: Seattle, Washington (archived site)
  • NIME 2002: Media Lab Europe, Dublin, Ireland (archived site)
  • NIME 2003: McGill University, Montreal, Canada (archived site)
  • NIME 2004: Shizuoka University of Art and Culture, Hamamatsu, Japan (archived site)
  • NIME 2005: University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada (archived site)
  • NIME 2006: IRCAM, Paris, France (archived site)
  • NIME 2007: New York University, USA (archived site)
  • NIME 2008: University of Genova, Italy (archived site)
  • NIME 2009: Carnegie Mellon School of Music, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA (archived site)
  • NIME 2010: University of Technology, Sydney, Australia (archived site)
  • NIME 2011: University of Oslo, Norway (archived site)
  • NIME 2012: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA (archived site)
  • NIME 2013: Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, South Korea. (archived site)
  • NIME 2014: Goldsmiths University, London, UK (archived site)
  • NIME 2015: Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
  • NIME 2016: Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia
  • NIME 2017: Aalborg University Copenhagen, Denmark (archived site)
  • NIME 2018: Blacksburg, VA, USA (archived site)
  • NIME 2019: Porto Alegre, Brazil (archived site)
  • NIME 2020: Birmingham, UK (archived site)
  • NIME 2021: Shanghai, China (archived site)
  • NIME 2022: Auckland, New Zealand
  • NIME 2023: Mexico City, Mexico.

Conference Chairs

This list only contains the general chairs for the NIME conferences. Each year there were also several other chairs (paper, music, installation, workshops, etc.).

  • 2001: Ivan Poupyrev and Michael J. Lyons and Sidney Fels and Tina Blaine
  • 2002: Joe Paradiso and Sile O’Modhrain
  • 2003: Marcelo Wanderley
  • 2004: Yoichi Nagashima and Michael J. Lyons
  • 2005: Sidney Fels and Tina “Bean” Blaine
  • 2006: Norbert Schnell and Frederic Bevilacqua
  • 2007: Carol Parkinson and Eric Singer
  • 2008: Antonio Camurri and Gualtiero Volpe
  • 2009: Noel Zahler and Roger Dannenberg
  • 2010: Kirsty Beilharz and Andrew Johnston and Bert Bongers
  • 2011: Alexander Refsum Jensenius and Kjell Tore Innervik
  • 2012: Georg Essl
  • 2013: Woon Seung Yeo
  • 2014: Atau Tanaka and Rebecca Fiebrink
  • 2015: Jesse T. Allison and Edgar Berdahl
  • 2016: Andrew Brown and Toby Gifford
  • 2017: Dan Overholt and Stefania Serafin
  • 2018: Ivica Ico Bukvic and Matthew Burtner
  • 2019: Rodrigo Schramm and Marcelo Johann
  • 2020: Lamberto Coccioli and Sally Jane Norman
  • 2021: Margaret Minsky and Gus Xia
  • 2022: Sasha Leitman and Fabio Morreale
  • 2023: Hugo Solís García and Eric Pérez Segura

Keynote speakers

  • 2001: (Seattle) Max Matthews
  • 2002: (Dublin) Tod Machover, Joel Chadabe
  • 2003: (Montreal) Joseph Paradiso, Claude Cadoz, Michel Waiswisz
  • 2004: (Hamamatsu) Robert Moog, Toshio Iwai
  • 2005: (Vancouver) Don Buchla, Golan Levin, Bill Buxton
  • 2006: (Paris) George Lewis, William Gaver
  • 2007: (New York) Perry Cook, Trimpin, Teresa Marin Nakra
  • 2008: (Genova) Andrew Gerzso, Xavier Serra
  • 2009: (Pittsburgh) Paul DeMarinis
  • 2010: (Sydney) Nicolas Collins, Stelarc
  • 2011: (Oslo) Tellef Kvifte, David Rokeby, Sergi Jorda
  • 2012: (Ann Arbor) David Wessel, David Huron
  • 2013: (Daejeon) Bill Verplank, Ajay Kapur
  • 2014: (London) Hiroshi Ishii, Laetitia Sonami
  • 2015: (Baton Rogue) R. Luke DuBois, Sile O’Modhrain
  • 2016: (Brisbane) Miya Masaoka, Garth Paine
  • 2017: (Copenhagen) Ge Wang, Dorit Chrysler, Chris Chafe
  • 2018: (Blacksburg) Onyx Ashanti, R. Benjamin Knapp, Ikue Mori, Pamela Z
  • 2019: (Porto Alegre) Marcelo M. Wanderley, Eduardo Reck Miranda, Ana María Romano Gomez
  • 2020: (Birmingham) Drake Music Labs, Lilja Maria Asmundsdottir, Crewdson & Cevanne, Dunning & Underwood
  • 2021: (Shanghai) Roger Dannenberg, Yann LeCun, AnnMarie Thomas
  • 2022: (Auckland) Hundred Rabbits, Khyam Allami, Sally Jane Norman
  • 2023: (Mexico City) Tania Candiani, Ariel Guzik, Arcángelo Constantini


Pamela Z Award for Innovation

This award recognizes a person who is doing significant work that improves the discussion about diversity in NIME - either through their research, connecting people or through actions such as organisation and awareness. It was named after Pamela Z because she was a keynote in the founding year, because she is a pioneer in this field and an extraordinary artist, and because spending time each NIME thinking about an award named after a prolific African American woman is a way of continually highlighting the value of her work, and representing voices that are often invisible in the community.